Skip to Content

It’s official. For the first time in American Idol history, there will be 13 contestants rounding out the final group in Season 8. In a surprise ending to Thursday night’s wild card show, the judges chose Jasmine Murray, Megan Joy Corkrey, and Matt Giraud.

Moments later a dejected Anoop Desai went from agony to elation when Simon Cowell gave him the pass through nod to round out the unprecedented ‘bakers dozen’.

The other nine finalists are Mike Sarver, Scott MacIntyre, Lil Rounds, Kris Allen, Adam Lambert, Alexis Grace, Allison Iraheta, Danny Gokey, Jorge Nunez.

Check out a group photo of the Top 13 for Season 8 below.