New Zealand Gay Marriage Bill: Passed!

by at .  Updated at .

New Zealand has become the 13th country to legalize gay marriage!

The bill was approved by a vote of 77 to 44.

New Zealand Flag

As the result was announced, a joyous crowd began to sing the indigenous New Zealand love song "Pokarekare Ana."

The bill's sponsor, Louisa Wall, said in her speech to lawmakers, "In our society, the meaning of marriage is universal. It's a declaration of love and commitment to a special person."

"Nothing could make me more proud to be a New Zealander than passing this bill."

A spokesman for a pro-gay marriage Australian lobbying group has said that in order to spark gay marriage to pass in Australia, gay couples are being encouraged to visit New Zealand to wed.

The other countries that currently allow gay marriage are the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, and Denmark.

Show Comments
Tags: ,