Skip to Content

The Film Independent Spirit Awards held its 25th annual event on Friday night at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles. Their mission is to champion the cause of independent film and support a community of artists who embody diversity, innovation, and uniqueness of vision.

The Harlem drama “Precious” won all five nominated categories, including best screen play and best picture. Best director honors went to Lee Daniels, the best female lead trophy went to newcomer Gabourey Sidibe and Mo’Nique won best supporting female honors. Best male lead went to Jeff Bridges for “Crazy Heart”.

See complete winners list here.

More red carpet photos below:

Photos: WENN