2012 AMA Winners List and Red Carpet PHOTOS

ama winners 2012

The 40th Anniversary American Music Awards were held Sunday night at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles and broadcast live on ABC.

Winning awards based on fan votes: Justin Bieber, Carly Rae Jepsen, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Usher, Maroon 5, Katy Perry, Lady Antebellum, Nicki Minaj, Beyonce, Rihanna, Linkin Park, Adele, Shakira, tobyMac and David GuettaComplete list here.

Our fashion favorites last night were all rocking metallic mini dresses:  Stacy Keibler, Taylor Swift and Kelly Rowland.  A few celebs missed the mark with their questionable choices: Heidi Klum, Jordin Sparks and 'Karmin' singer Amy Heidemann.

Other glam red carpet celebs included: Jenny McCarthy, Colbie Caillat, Jennifer Morrison, Hayden Panettiere, Pink, Kelly Washington, Christina Aguilera, Renee Bargh and Nicki Minaj.

In a category unto herself was Cyndi Lauper--who reminded us of a character out of a Dickens novel... but in a cute way.

Check out our AMA photo gallery below:

Photos:  WENN